Fishing!

Jarrett’s been wanting to go fishing for quite a while now, and we haven’t had the chance (low tides and late starts). Today we were up fairly early so we decided to go- just for fun, not to catch anything to keep or eat. We went to a store across the road called Master Bait & Tackle, a bait shop that sells fishing gear and t-shirts. Jarrett bought a bucket of shrimp (would I call them prawns?) and put them in a bucket without a lid, telling me not to spill it.

I spilled it before we arrived and was pretty annoyed- my shorts and the seat were soaked and I hadn’t brought any extra clothes. We drove to the dog beach not far from his house and were about to set up and start when we realised we had no towel (so I couldn’t sit and sunbathe) and no insect repellent. We both got eaten in the 10 minutes we were there, so we drove back to the main beach and fished for a little while there instead.

20140723_132915

I really like that part of the beach because the water is usually completely clear, the sand is so soft and there are never too many people there. We waded around for a little bit, but we didn’t catch anything. We lay on those beach chairs (Jarrett says they’re called sun recliners?) that can be adjusted to lie flat or upright, and dried off before getting in the car again and moving on.20140723_132959

We’d recently been on a walk nearby (it’s impossible to walk too far in the day time here) and seen a spot where there are fish so we made our way there instead. It was really quiet and there was a small dock where we could stand and see the fish below us. I was really squeamish about touching the shrimp, and even more so about actually piercing and hooking it. Jarrett did most of that for me, but I managed to get past them flipping and twitching on me and hook my own. I’m so proud I managed to catch my first fish with it! It was a small snapper and it totally took me by surprise but I’m still so happy about it! I did all of it myself and for a first real attempt I feel good about it.20140723_15345120140723_153456After fishing, we went back to Jarrett’s place and showered before dinner (his dad made really good chicken for tortillas). I don’t know how we’re spending the rest of the evening but I’ve had a really good day and I’m really happy that I get to spend so much time with Jarrett.

Leave a Reply

