The Positives

It is so easy to focus on the negative things in life, rather than being happy for all the great things you have in life.

As I’d expected, I’ve been feeling very up and down lately- moving to a new place away from everything I’ve always known has been a challenge.

Sometimes I feel so happy and excited to finally be here, the place I’ve focused on for over a year. I feel truly independent and free, with so many opportunities being handed to me.
Other times I feel alone, friendless and awkward like I’m living on a completely different planet to everyone else.

It’s very easy for me to be down on myself- picking on myself for my clothes, my hair, my skin, my weight, my awkwardness and my inability to drink without introducing myself to everybody I see.

But I’ve started to realise that letting myself get beaten up by my negativity just makes the negativity worse. I don’t want to go back to being my fourteen year old, self conscious, depressed self. I’ve grown up, I like myself more, I can control it better. So here are three positives in my life, which remind me that as bad as things are, there’s always some good in my life.

1. Jarrett loves me. He’s my best friend in the whole world, there for me everyday, any time, and he doesn’t let me down. I’ve had a few melt downs since being here and he’s always fully supported and comforted me, even when I’m really mad at him. I don’t know what I’d do without him (and of course I support him in the same way).

2. Norwich and UEA are beautiful. The view of the lake from my bedroom is beautiful. We’ve had two double rainbows already and they were stunning. The city has anything you need and it only takes half an hour to get there. I love my room and the way it’s decorated and organised. I love the campus, I love the library, I love my flat. I really like it here.

3. I get to study at one of the best universities, especially in the humanities department and I get to be here for four years. I could do a semester abroad which would be fun and I get to study English and choose what I study.

Three unchangeable factors about my life that will always make me happy.

One thought on “The Positives

Leave a Reply

