Japanese II

I’ve finished university for the summer again and guess what I’m doing? Re-re-learning Japanese! I suppose Alex is partly to blame for that.

So, I dug out my copy of げんき! and started re-learning all the things I did before. The great part was that I remembered most of the hiragana on the first try, (it was きさち that gave me the most trouble, especially as when hand-written they look a bit different). Last night, I reached the end of chapter 2 and remembered why I stopped learning the first time – at chapter 3 the book stops giving the romaji and writes all the Japanese only in Kanji, Hiragana and Katakana (which I had been avoiding ip until that point). This time instead of giving up, I’m trying to learn it.

I’m halfway through the Katakana, and super looking forward to starting some Kanji and learning new words in the process. It feels like a bit of an impossible task, but I really want to do it so I’m going to try my hardest.

猿も木から落ちる

So I’ve only just re-read that post I wrote 2 years ago about learning Japanese for the first time since, and I said that I should have gotten paper with squares on it to help me practice. Well weirdly enough (or not, considering it is 10 times easier to do it) I bought some a couple of days ago, and it’s really really helped keep everything in order. Squared paper is definitely a must.

 

Leave a Reply

